1. Travel
You can opt-out at any time. Please refer to our privacy policy for contact information.

Discuss in my forum

Nevada's National Historic Landmarks


1 of 9

Historic Places in Reno and Nevada

What are National Historic Landmarks?

This gets confusing, especially with other designations like National Parks, National Monuments, National Natural Landmarks, and National Historic Places. All of these are listed by the U.S. Department of the Interior and National Park Service. Here is the official definition of the National Historic Landmarks Program...

"National Historic Landmarks are nationally significant historic places designated by the Secretary of the Interior because they possess exceptional value or quality in illustrating or interpreting the heritage of the United States. Today, fewer than 2,500 historic places bear this national distinction. Working with citizens throughout the nation, the National Historic Landmarks Program draws upon the expertise of National Park Service staff who work to nominate new landmarks and provide assistance to existing landmarks."

National Historic Landmarks in Nevada

There are eight National Historic Landmarks in the state of Nevada (as of January 2013). Almost all of these are in northern Nevada, and one is right in Reno. These significant landmarks span literally thousands of years of Nevada and Great Basin history. With each listing is the county in which it is located and the date of landmark designation.

Visit More National Historic Landmarks and Sites

If you are interested in learning more and visiting other historic places in the west and across the United States, the National Park Service website "Discover Our Shared Heritage Travel Itinerary Series" is a good place to start.

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.