Reno domestic partners who register with the Nevada Secretary of State can receive certificates of domestic partnership, thanks to an act passed by the 2009 Nevada Legislature. Under the Nevada Domestic Partnership Act, certificates of domestic partnership are available to couples living together regardless of gender or sexual orientation. Straight or gay, same or opposite sex, Nevada couples who register as domestic partners are now recognized as a unit and extended rights similar to those held by married couples.
Nevada Domestic Partnership Act
Provisions of the Nevada Domestic Partnership Act (NRS 122A) took effect on October 1, 2009. According to the Nevada Secretary of State, couples in a domestic partnership "Have chosen to share one another's lives in an intimate and committed relationship of mutual caring." The law grants domestic partners "...the same rights, protections, benefits, responsibilities, obligations and duties as...parties to any other civil contract..." This is not, however, recognized as a formal marriage as defined in Section 21 of Article 1 of the Nevada Constitution.
In order to obtain a Declaration of Domestic Partnership, both parties must affirm that...
- We have chosen to share one another's lives in an intimate and committed relationship of mutual caring.
- We desire of our own free will to enter into a domestic partnership.
- We have a common residence shared by both domestic partners on at least a part-time basis.
- Neither of us is married or a member of another domestic partnership, except to or with each other in another jurisdiction.
- We are not related by blood in a way that would prevent us from being married to each other in this State.
- We are at least 18 years of age.
- We are competent to consent to this domestic partnership.
How to File Under the Nevada Domestic Partnership ActDeclaration of Domestic Partnership forms are processed by the Nevada Secretary of State. Signatures of both parties must be notarized and a filing fee of $50 must be paid. A standard certificate is included. A ceremonial certificate is available for $15. Applications can be delivered in person to either of these Nevada Secretary of State offices or mailed to the address below.
Hand delivery addresses:
Carson City: State Capitol, 101 North Carson Street, Suite 3, Carson City, NV 89701
Las Vegas: Grant Sawyer Building, 555 E. Washington Ave., Suite 5200, Las Vegas, NV 89101
Domestic Partnership Registration
555 E. Washington Ave, Suite 5200
Las Vegas, NV 89101
Two-hour expedited processing of Domestic Partnership Registrations provides couples with their certificate on the same day. This service is available by appointment only. To make an appointment, call (775) 684-7195 (Carson City) or (702) 486-2887 (Las Vegas), Monday through Friday between 8 a.m. and 5 p.m. Expedited processing requires an additional fee of $100.
Blank applications can be obtained from the offices listed above or you can download and print the online Declaration of Domestic Partnership.
Source: Nevada Secretary of State