1. Local

Discuss in my forum

Standley White

New members in the 2013 Nevada Legislature

By February 1, 2013

Follow me on:

The Nevada Legislature will have a several new members when the biennial (every two years) session begins in Carson City on February 4, 2013. This will be the 77th Regular Session of the Nevada Legislature.

This session will feature more new members than has been the case in many years. Several factors created the flurry of turnovers, including term limits, legislators deciding not to run for re-election or retiring, incumbent legislators being defeated in the 2012 election, and the passing of members.

Even with an extraordinary number of new members, the political makeup of the Nevada Legislature remains essentially the same. Democrats retain their majorities in both houses. In the Assembly, it's Democrats 27, Republicans 15. It's closer in the Senate, with 11 Democrats and 10 Republicans. Those majorities, however, aren't enough to override any vetoes from Governor Brian Sandoval (R) without at least a few Republicans crossing party lines.

Those holding leadership positions in both chambers have changed as well. The new Speaker of the Assembly is Assemblywoman Marilyn Kirkpatrick (D, North Las Vegas). The Senate Majority Leader is Senator Moises (Mo) Denis (D, Las Vegas). With the retirement and passing of veteran Senator Bill Raggio last year, northern Nevada lost a great deal of influence in the Nevada Legislature.

Get more Reno / Tahoe information:

- Receive the Reno / Tahoe Newsletter.
- Speak up on the Reno / Tahoe Discussion Forum.
- Follow me on Twitter.


No comments yet. Leave a Comment

Leave a Comment

Line and paragraph breaks are automatic. Some HTML allowed: <a href="" title="">, <b>, <i>, <strike>

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.